Paris I

2002-08-27 - 5:00 p.m. Paris I

*** Paris again...My trip to Paris.

The day before i leave, i worked a lot on my things, a bit too much i think, so i was sort of all excited and tense, and really dead tired, and then i spent one of the worst night in my lifetime, felt bad, almost didn't sleep a wink... But i left all the same, because i wanted to take my mind off all this.

I tried to sleep on the train. Once in Gare de Lyon, i found my juggler pal, all smiles (we havn't seen each other for 10 months or so). And we got directly to the exhibition, right after a beer and a sandwiche in a bar. So... after 4 years, i was in Paris again... You see, i'm not exactly seeing this town like the damn so lovely place where you've got to be for a so damn romantic holiday and all... I was born and have lived in the close suburbs of Paris for 22 years, and i'm mostly still seeing it like my own personal prison... But so... later, my second favourite painter (i MUST talk to you another time about Zao Wou-ki, who, on my favourite painter scale, comes first, really hands down) made appear his bright huge colored sort of cedars slowly through high black space, like illuminated crazy spaceships... I didn't find all his paintworks great, but 4 or 5 of them have really killed us badly. Killed at first sight. Food for the soul. An insolent kickass painter. Tenderness for the heart... All right, this town has always been great for movies and painting exhibitions, i can admit it...